Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Doctor Who Composer Reveals Some Details Of New Series

Composer Murray Gold has revealed that Mark Gatiss (The League of Gentlemen) and Gareth Roberts have scripted episodes for the new series of Doctor Who.

Gatiss wrote 'The Unquiet Dead' and 'The Idiot's Lantern' for previous series, while Roberts scripted 'The Shakespeare Code', 'The Unicorn and the Wasp', and co-wrote 'Planet Of The Dead'.

The composer also confirmed that he will be arranging an updated theme song for the new series. Gold also discussed how his approach for the music in the show will differ due to the new showrunner and Doctor.

"In all honesty I make refinements anyway, when I score Steven's episodes, because they do come at the story from a different angle.

"I don't know if you can even talk about a single approach, musically, to all of the episodes as they've been done so far - there's a different approach to each one - and that'll be the same again."

"I mean with Mark Gatiss and Gareth Roberts and people like that writing episodes, you know what their episodes are like from previous series.

"So it's going to be that, with Steven's comments, and Matt's performance are going to be different and they might be different in structure somehow... every episode might not involve so much running down corridors! I don't know."

The Tenth Doctor's Regeneration