Sunday, February 27, 2011

2011 Film Independent Spirit Awards Winners

The winners of the 2011 Film Independent Spirit Awards were announced on Saturday with Black Swan picking up four prizes including best film, best director for Darren Aronofsky best cinematography and best female for Natalie Portman.

The following is a complete list of the winners:

Best Feature
Black Swan (Fox Searchlight)
Producers: Scott Franklin, Mike Medavoy, Arnold W. Messer, Brian Oliver

Best Director
Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan (Fox Searchlight)

Best Screenplay
The Kids Are All Right (Focus Features)
Writers: Stuart Blumberg & Lisa Cholodenko

Best First Feature
Get Low (Sony Pictures Classics)
Director: Aaron Schneider; Producers: David Gundlach, Dean Zanuck

Best First Screenplay
Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture (IFC Films)

John Cassavetes Award
(For the best feature made under $500,000)
Daddy Longlegs (IFC Films)
Writers/Directors: Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie; Producers: Casey Neistat, Tom Scott

Best Supporting Female
Dale Dickey, Winter's Bone (Roadside Attractions)

Best Supporting Male
John Hawkes, Winter's Bone (Roadside Attractions)

Best Female
Natalie Portman, Black Swan (Fox Searchlight)

Best Male
James Franco, 127 Hours (Fox Searchlight)

Best Cinematography
Matthew Libatique, Black Swan (Fox Searchlight)

Best Foreign Film
The King's Speech (The Weinstein Company)
Director: Tom Hooper

Best Documentary
Exit Through The Gift Shop (Producers Distribution Agency)